AMERICANAH by Chimamanda Adichie

One day, I was not exactly looking out for a new book to read because I was reading “When breath becomes Air” by Paul Kalanithi (which I shall review later), I land on Sinawo Bukani and another tweep talking about a book passionately. I get to ask and it was “Americanah” by Chimamanda. Even before I finished the one I was reading, I called Aristoc and booked my copy. I don’t even know how to start but I promised Sinawo a review because it was one of those books that reminded me of my old literature days (I should go teach literature I think.)

I love books with enticing pictures and “Americanah” qualifies. immediately I saw the cover page, I am thing the characters must be colored (of course with the title in mind I didn’t expect a setting in Africa).

The book is centered on Ifemelu, a young Nigerian Girl. Not from a very wealthy background but the parents try very much to give her everything and then she falls in love with Obinze a fine boy from her school who is exposed and has knowledge about things that exist outside Nigeria. She later gets an opportunity to go to America and life isn’t as she hoped or as her friends at school discussed. She is faced with challenges of Race and Identity as a black girl who has never thought she would ever consider herself black.

The novel depicts how Africans are treated when they travel to White people’s countries and all the difficulties they go through to settle.

The description of these characters is so lovely that you feel like you know them or can visualize. The humor, back-story setting and the structuring. It’s a Flashback kind of narrative. She keeps the reader entertained using dramatic visualization especially as she diffuses  the two cultures. When it comes to describing the love tale between Obinze and Ifemelu, you wish you were sixteen again

A love story narrated excellently with prose that is filled with anecdotes and images of everyday conversation.

 

2 thoughts on “AMERICANAH by Chimamanda Adichie

Leave a Reply

